• Real time clickable results
  • There are no results yet for this round.


The Husband is a Sore Loser

Written by Don

Got this funny email from a visitor to our site. Maybe WWF is not contributing to marital harmony, but at least they’re spending quality time together!

Subject: Ending the Game with a bad loser (my husband)

Message Body:

Another Friday nite, and after a few cocktails I ended up beating my husband (of 30 years).

Of course this was on Words with Friends.

He is upset that I “won” only because I used all my tiles before he did… although he was over 50 points ahead of me and had four tiles left totalling six points.

He also said I went first and he didn’t have the opportunity of using all of his tiles.

Categories: Uncategorized
Feb
07

16 Responses to “The Husband is a Sore Loser”

  1. Donna says:

    I agree this bug should be fixed. I just lost again to my boyfriend. I was 116 points ahead but had two tiles left an I and a X. worth 9 pts. This does not happen against my sister who has the IPHONE only in pass and play. I enjoy playing the game but what is so hard about fixing this bug?

  2. cecil says:

    i have been playing a pass and play game with my houseguest and this has happened a couple of times. i was over 100 points ahead and had an “a” left and she won because she used her last tile first. weird. i looked up the rules and the ending is standard scrabble where you subtract the value from of the remaining tiles.

  3. Etaylor says:

    My WWF screen has more than 5 “s”. There are 5 on the board and I still have 2 in my rack. Is the letter distribution chart wrong? What’s up?

  4. RnR says:

    I can confirm that there is a bug in pass and play.

    In pass-and-play, whoever finishes their tiles wins no matter how many points they have. This doesn’t happen when playing someone on another iphone.

    This bug is very obvious and and annoying – it should be fixed !

  5. John says:

    Just read the rules. Every time my wife and I play. The person playing the last tile wins, no matter how far ahead the other person is, in come cases over 100 points. This bug should be fixed. We just ignore the game results and calculate the final score ourselves.

  6. Smashh9 says:

    Mark – Obviously you have never played a pass and play game because the person placing the last tile DOES win even if they have lower points.
    (My boyfriend “won” even though I was up 40 points with 2 tiles left)
    Maybe YOU should know what you’re talking about before being rude to other players.

    This rule does not make sense to me either whether it is just in pass and play or not. Why should it be different playing a real person and playing a person through your phone? I hope this is just a bug and will be fixed soon.

  7. Mark says:

    whats wrong wih you guys – the rules are fair and do reward finishing first (as they should), but only by adjusting your score, not disregarding it. Stop crying and understand the rules better before complaining please.

  8. MickDawg says:

    Yeah, I don’t get what you guys are referencing.

    Me and EnzoFX played a game he/she played all of his/her tiles.

    I had 1 left (O for 1pt).

    I was up by 10. Enzo played a 6pt word to finish.

    Enzo was basically awarded 2 pts for my leftover O.

    I won by 2 pts (great game btw).

    That’s how the rule states it, and that’s consistent with how the endgame should be scored.

  9. Linda says:

    I have encountered this only in the “pass and play” mode.

  10. pk karras says:

    This has happened to me- and I think it must be a glitch- the rules state : •After the last tile is played, the opposing player will lose points equal to the sum of the value of his remaining tiles. This amount is then awarded to the player who placed the last tile.

    If the awarded points is not enough to put the last tile user ahead, he or she should not be declared the winner. They need to fix this or change the rules…

  11. Wesley says:

    What on earth are y’all referencing? I have yet to play a game that ended like that.

  12. I agree. This rule makes no sense at all. If you are leading the game by 200 points you are obviously a winner and should not be losing just because your opponent gets lucky in the last final move! Come on – please change that rule! Points for the remaining letters should be deducted from the total score but that’s it. Please change the rule!

  13. sarah says:

    I totally agree with Jmac00. I just lost a game where I was up 90 points, bc the other person used up all their tiles~ I’m so annoyed by this. Basically the point system doesn’t matter at all then. AND it appears as if the two players are sharing the same letter bag, so even if I consistently spell larger & better words, the other player may just finish before me and win arbitrarily. I was addicted to this game, but now I think it’s just stupid. Change the rules.

  14. Jmac00 says:

    I also lost a game in which I was ahead by quite a bit… because the other player used all their tiles. I don’t like this rule. Is there a forum to suggest rule changes? Maybe using all your tiles should get you some points, but overcoming a 50 point deficit takes the fun out of the play… winning isn’t about getting points, it’s about using up your letters.

  15. Deena says:

    Even if u had no tiles left n he had more points he wins the game. It is based on the person with the most points at end of the game

Leave a Reply